GLuten free cheese, cream sauce… with veggies!!!


I love experimenting and love adding veggies whenever and where ever I can! I do believe that children should know what veggies are and eat them, I just like to add even more when I can and just add a little more nutrition. This is a recipe I do not make often because of the calorie and fat count but every once in a while its nice to have a nice cheesy pasta sauce. This sauce is made with goat milk and goat cheese ( I will not make a sauce with soy products as it never tastes right to me) but it is still lactose free. If you wanted to let it simmer longer and reduce you can omit the cheese.

This recipe calls for cauliflower puree, stream the cauliflower then process in blender or food processor.  Despite popular belief cauliflower does have nutrition in it. It is very high in vitamin C, fiber, potassium and folic acid. It is also an antioxidant. Cauliflower can be used as a low carb substitute for mashed potatoes (I havent tried this yet but I will soon).

You need:

1 L whole goats milk

1/2 small block goat cheddar

cauliflower puree

dried basil

oil

garlic

1/2 onion

about 1 1/2 cups green peas

chicken cubed

start by adding your milk and cauliflower, slowly bring to a boil then simmer. season with salt pepper and basil.

In a separate pan fry onion and garlic, then add chicken and cook all the way through. Add frozen peas.

When sauce has reduced down a little add your cheddar ( optional you can add white wine to help the cheese from globbing) then add to the chicken and peas.Serve with your favorite pasta. Top with fresh parsley and enjoy 🙂

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Kate said,

    June 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I put cauliflower in mashed potatoes! Probably like 1/3 of it? I don’t notice it, you just have to puree it all together and season well. Mare would love if I made this cream sauce.

  2. June 29, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    you could easily (and much cheaper) make it with milk or cream and a little parmesan if you wanted


Leave a Reply

