Another substitution


Yes it is another vegetable substitution. I had run out of eggs and was making chicken strips, so I experimented and  used carrot.

I placed sliced carrots in a steamer in a pot. Steamed them until tender and blended them, using the water from the steamer to make it smooth and runny.

Using the usual method, I have a bowl of brown rice flour, then carrot puree, then crushed cereal flakes. taking the strips cover in flour then carrot then cereal.

place on a baking sheet and lightly cover in sunflower. Bake in a oven at 350 until cooked.

My husband thought these were great and better than when cooked with egg!! 🙂

 

3 Comments

  1. Nicole said,

    July 7, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    You could also use ground flax seed mixed with a bit of water – have you ever used that as an egg sub?

    • July 7, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      I have herd that, I have not used it and I dont have any flax at the moment. And the carrot add a great texture which makes it taste and crunchy like if it was deep fried! awesome!

  2. February 5, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    […] chicken strips…I usually ask Cowboy for a meal idea if I’m stuck and he asked for this. My cousin makes a great one, and I’ll play around making something […]


Leave a Reply

