Sneaky….


I sometimes eat tofu, yes I do. My father in law is always so afraid I will hide tofu in something he is going to eat and is constantly making fun of me about it. … So I figure it is time to feed him tofu! since he hasnt had tofu he can’t claim he doesnt like it!

I decided to make a dessert! This is my gluten free (vegan) (fat-free) lemon lime “cheese” cake (makes 2)

2 packages light silken  tofu

1 package firm tofu (if wanted fat free use light and add one more tbsp of tapioca flour)

1 1/2 cups soy milk (fat free if wanted)

1 1/2 cup white sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 limes rind and juice

2 lemons rind and juice

3/4 cup honey ( maple syrup vegan option)

1 package of GF animal crackers (rice flour and little sugar for vegan option)

about 1/4- 1/2 cup of melted vegan butter

blend up the animal crackers.

Add melted butter and mix, then press into greased pan.

Take tofu out of the package and rinse very well. Then wrap in a paper towel to take out extra moister.

Blend up the tofu.

add all remaining ingredients and blend untill smooth. Pour into crust.

Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes. take out and cool for at least 3 hours.

to decorate (and hide the ugly mark I made with a spoon) I added fresh raspberries and honey (omit for vegan option)

This is soooo tasty!!!

3 Comments

  1. mamabuckwheat said,

    July 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I am totally in the same boat as your FIL, I too ‘hate’ tofu. I’ve just never had it! I’ve had mango silken tofu pudding once that was delish. This ‘cheesecake’ looks awesome!! What did FIL think of it?! Inquiring minds want to know!

  2. July 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    He didnt want to say it but he loved it!!! ate a big piece!!! Geri loved it too!

  3. Nicole said,

    July 21, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    My stepdad still insists he doesn’t like tofu because of the one time he tried it cold andplain from a container in the fridge… and even though he had tofu scramble one time, loved it and thought it was actually eggs. Silly silly.


Leave a Reply

